Marc Verica is Not Unlike Matt Leinart

Virginia fifth-year starting QB Marc Verica’s musical talents are well-known, but the team captain who is competing as a graduate student this fall continued his higher learning earlier this summer via a dance class.  Said Verica at the time:

It’s called ‘The Social Change of Dance,’ but it’s not just two hours, non stop, of us cutting it loose. It’s a lot of learning the history of dance. We learn about dance as a propaganda tool [in terms of] specific [cultural] movements, whether it’s civil rights or maybe feminism. Adrien Harraway, my academic advisor, told me, ‘You’re approved to take a summer class, third session if you want to. I said, ‘Fine, let’s do it. I’m not doing anything anyway.’ … Guys know on the team that I’m a good dancer. I dance all the time in the locker room.”

Verica may be patterning his final season of eligibility after that of Heisman Trophy winner, two-time All-American, and slightly better-looking Matt Leinart.  In 2005, the USC QB took a ballroom dancing class as the final elective en route to a sociology degree from Southern Cal.  The latter, who threw for more TDs in two starts against Notre Dame (9) than Verica has in 17 career games (8), led the Trojans to an undefeated regular season and was selected 10th overall by the Arizona Cardinals in the 2006 NFL Draft.

Leinart, who took the course with then-girlfriend and subsequent/current baby-mother Brynn Cameron, stated at the time: “I put in my work to get my degree. I came back for my fifth year, and I’m taking what’s necessary for me to graduate. And that’s two units.”  But things haven’t gone so dancingly for Leinart since then.  Cameron, then a USC basketball player, claimed two years ago that Matt L. wasn’t exactly the world’s best Dad.  And at present, Leinart remains a backup in Arizona and thinks his HC Ken Winsehunt may have issues with him.

As for Verica, he’s just looking for some wins.  His last two high school teams won a combined 6 games, and in order to better than in his last two college seasons Virginia will need to win at least four games this year.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Marc Verica is Not Unlike Matt Leinart”

  1. Wireless Speakers Says:

    I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives great information :*.

Leave a Reply

