They All Look Alike to Clinton Portis

In a radio interview on Tuesday, Redskins running back Clinton Portis recalled some fond memories of watching professional wrestling:

“Well, being that I know wrasslin’ is a lot of acting, I probably would have went out and tried to beat Jimmy Superfly Snuka or Koko B. Ware,” Portis said. “I would have loved the opportunity to fight Sting or Ric Flair back in their day. I think that would have been exciting.

“Now I think it’s too overrated. Back in the day when I was a kid, I remember crying when the Undertaker put Sting in the casket. We was all crying in the room and holding hands and thinking Sting was dead. I think Sting was my favorite wrestler, and Undertaker put him in the casket, and that was on a Saturday, and I remember wasting my whole Saturday crying and thinking Sting was dead. And then he came back on Monday. I haven’t watched wrestling since.”

Only one problem… he was actually refering to a 1991 incident during Pall Bearer’s “Funreral Parlour” that vitcimized The Ultimate Warrior, not Sting.  See the video here. 

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “They All Look Alike to Clinton Portis”

  1. Holder Says:

    Ironically, Sting and the Warrior wrestled together as amateurs in one of the Texas leagues they became famous. I believe the facepaint similarities alone show the shared background.

Leave a Reply

